# Chapter I

Introduction

## 1.1 74<sup>th</sup> Constitutional Amendment

The Constitution (Seventy Fourth Amendment) Act, 1992 (74<sup>th</sup> CAA) which came into effect on 1 June 1993, introduced Part IX A (the Municipalities). The Act provided a constitutional status to Urban Local Bodies (ULBs). Article 243W of the CAA authorised the State Legislatures to enact laws to endow local bodies with powers and authority as may be necessary to enable them to function as institutions of self-government and make provisions for devolution of powers and responsibilities.

The Twelfth Schedule of the Constitution enumerates 18 specific functions to be devolved to ULBs as listed in **Table 4.1**.

#### 1.2 Trend of urbanisation in Karnataka

As per census 2011, 2.35 crore (38.67 *per cent*) out of the total population of 6.11 crore reside in urban areas. The growth rate of urban population in the decades 2001-2011 & 2011-2019<sup>1</sup> was 31.9 *per cent* and 25.4 *per cent* respectively.

Urban Karnataka faces multiple challenges, ranging from public health issues, poverty alleviation, waste management, depletion of natural resources etc. In this scenario, ULBs have an important role to play, as most of these issues are handled best at the local level.

## 1.3 Profile of Urban Local Bodies

In Karnataka, ULBs are categorised on the basis of population<sup>2</sup>, geographical features<sup>3</sup>, economic status, local revenue generation and level of employment within their jurisdiction. There are 280 ULBs as shown in **Table 1.1**.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Projected population in 2019 as per Directorate of Economics and Statistics, Bengaluru

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Population of 3,00,000 or more is Municipal Corporation, Population of 50,000 or more but less than 3,00,000 is City Municipal Council, Population of 20,000 or more but less than 50,000 is Town Municipal Council, Population of 10000 or more but less than 20,000 is Town Panchayats. Notified Area Committees are administered separately by a Committee.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Madikeri, being a district headquarter was declared as CMC though the population was less than 50,000. Similarly, 10 taluk headquarters were declared as TPs, though population was less than 10,000.

Type of ULB	Number of ULBs
City Corporations (CC)	11
City Municipal Councils (CMC)	58
Town Municipal Councils (TMC)	115
Town Panchayats (TP)	92
Notified Area Committees (NAC)	04
Total	280

#### 1.1: Category-wise ULBs in Karnataka State

Source: Annual Administration Report 2018-19 of UDD

The CCs are governed by the Karnataka Municipal Corporations Act, 1976 and other ULBs are governed by the Karnataka Municipalities Act, 1964. Each Corporation/Municipal area has been divided into wards, which are determined and notified by the State Government for the purpose of election of Councilors. All ULBs except NACs have an elected body comprising Corporators / Councilors. NACs are administered separately by a Committee under the control of Deputy Commissioner.

### 1.4 Organisation Structure of Urban Governance in Karnataka

The Urban Development Department (UDD), headed by the Additional Chief Secretary to the Government, is the nodal department for the governance of all ULBs. The Directorate of Municipal Administration (DMA) established in December 1984, functions as an interface between the State Government and ULBs except Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP), which functions directly under UDD. In accordance with the powers conferred under the KMC Act, the DMA monitors these ULBs through a network of District Urban Development Cells (DUDC) headed by a Project Director who reports to the Deputy Commissioner of the concerned district on a day to day basis. The organisation structure with respect to functioning of ULBs in the State is indicated in **Appendix 1.1**.

In addition to ULBs, the UDD has key parastatal agencies that deliver or facilitate urban infrastructure and services such as Karnataka Urban Water Supply and Sewerage Board (KUWS&DB), Karnataka Urban Infrastructure Development Finance Corporation (KUIDFC), 31 Urban Development Authorities (UDA), 52 Town Planning Authorities (TPA), Bengaluru Water Supply and Sewerage Board (BWSSB), Bengaluru Development Authority (BDA) and Bengaluru Metropolitan Regional Development Authority under its control. The other parastatals such as Karnataka Slum Development Board (KSDB), Karnataka Industrial Area Development Board (KIADB) and State Road Transport Corporations under the departments of Housing, Industries and Commerce and Transport respectively also deliver urban services. The details of parastatals and their functions are in **Appendix 1.2**.